National Productivity: FG honours Izunaso, Leo Stan, Dangote, others with Merit Award …LASU VC, JAMB Registra get accolades also

The Federal Government yesterday honoured Imo born Sen Osita Izunaso and Leo Stan Ekeh and other prominent Nigerians including Aliko Dangote, Tony Elumelu, Oba Otudeko with the prestigious National Productivity Order of Merit (NPOM) award.
In a letter signed by the Honourable Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige and communicated to all prospective recipients of the award the minister had noted that they were being recognised for their outstanding contributions to the development of the country.
The letter dated November 18th 2019 further noted that President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the conferment of the National Productivity Order of Merit award on the shortlisted recipients. It added that this is in recognition of their high productivity, hard work and excellence.
Flowing from this, the awardees were conferred with the National Productivity Order of Merit award at a high-profile ceremony that took place at the NAF Conference Centre and Suites, Kado, Abuja.
The event was chaired by President Buhari, The National Productivity Order of Merit Award is an award of honour and dignity instituted by the Federal Government to recognize hard work and excellence among deserving Nigerians.
The awardees including Imo illustrious sons Sen Izunaso and Leo Stan Ekeh were described as assets to the country because of their individual contributions to the development of the country in different ways
Dangote, Africa’s richest man and Chairman of the Dangote Group, has built a business empire that has accommodated major investments in real estate, banking, transport, textiles, oil, and gas. The company employs more than 11,000 people and is the largest industrial conglomerate in West Africa.
Ekeh, a serial digital entrepreneur, can best be described as Africa’s technology guru. He has remained in the forefront of the democratization of technology in Nigeria and beyond for the past three decades. His story is one of many firsts and a series of landmark achievements in his chosen field of Information and Communications Technology. The Zinox Group Chairman holds the Nigerian national honour of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR). Furthermore, he was honoured as an Icon of Hope by former President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo on the occasion of Nigeria’s Independence Anniversary on October 1st 2001 for his sustained pioneering efforts in the area of Information Technology and also as a pride to modern Nigeria.
Sen Osita Izunaso for many years has through his Kpakpando Foundation for Persons living with Disabilities empowered and trained many physically challenged persons, a development that has singled him out as a foremost Philanthropist in addition to becoming an outstanding legislator who sponsored many life changing and People oriented Bills at the National Assembly and also has made remarkable contributions to the political development of the country.
Another awardee, Elumelu, is one of the most recognized names in Corporate Nigeria. The economist, entrepreneur and philanthropist is the chairman of Heirs Holdings, the United Bank for Africa, Transcorp and founder of The Tony Elumelu Foundation.
Renowned businessman, Oba Otudeko serves as the founder and chairman of the Honeywell Group. He also serves as chair of FBN Holdings and founder of the Oba Otudeko Foundation
Other Nigerians on the shortlist for the National Productivity Order of Merit award include the Vice Chancellor of Lagos State University (LASU), Prof Olanrewaju Adigun Fagbohun and the Registrar of the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, Prof Ishaq Oloyede, among others.

Related posts